REGISTRATION:

Registration Fee : 500/-* On the spot registration Fee: 700/-* *Laptop bag will be provided to all registered participants

Organizing Committee: Patron-in-Chief: Prof. Bijender K. Punia (Vice Chancellor) Patron: Prof. P.K. Jaiwal (Dean Faculty of Life Sciences) Convener: Prof. Pratyoosh Shukla (HOD,

Microbiology)

Organizing Secretaries: Dr. Krishna Kant Sharma

Dr. Bijender Singh

Joint Organizing Secretaries:

Dr. Pooja Suneja Dr. Sanjay Kumar

Dr. Pooja Gulati

Dr. Rajeev K. Kapoor

Dr. Anita Santal

Dr. Santosh Tiwari

Interdisciplinary committee members Dr. Kashyap K. Dubey Dr. Manvender Singh

Advisory Committee:

Prof. Kamla Chaudhary (Prof. Emeritus, Microbiology)
Prof. P.K. Jaiwal (Centre for Medical Biotechnology)
Prof. J.P. Yadav (Dept. of Genetics)
Prof. Pushpa Dahiya (Deptt. of Botany)
Prof. Rajesh Dankhar (Dept. of Env. Sciences and Centre for Bioinformatics)
Prof. Vineeta Shukla (Deptt. of Zoology)
Prof. Promod Mehta (Centre for Biotechnolohy)
Dr. B.S. Yadav (Deptt. of Food Technology)
Dr. Rajesh Dabar (Dept. of Biochemistry)

PROGRAMME:

High Tea

Key note Speaker Prof. Ramesh C. Kuhad Vice Chancellor, CUH, Haryana

Other Esteemed Speakers

1. Prof. V.C. Kalia Chief Scientist, IGIB, New Delhi

2. Prof. Purnananda Guptasarma IISER, Mohali

3. Prof. Prati Pal Singh NIPER, Mohali

4. Dr. Madhu Puri (Young scientist Session) Institute of Medical Microbiology, Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany

5. Dr. Praveen Bawankar (Young scientist Session) Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology, Germany

Correspondence Address:

Organizing Secretary – AFEE-2016 Dept. of Microbiology, M. D. University, Rohtak-124001 Ph: 01262393398 Mob: 91-8813866019; 9996303126; E-mail : hod.microbiology@mdurohtak.ac.in E-mail : kekulsharma@gmail.com National Research Colloquium cum Workshop on

"Microbes in Food, Energy and Environment: Its importance and Future Prospect" (MFEE-2016)



ASSOCIATION OF MICROBIOLOGISTS OF INDIA ROHTAK-UNIT



Organized by DEPARTMENT OF MICROBIOLOGY MAHARSHI DAYANAND UNIVERSITY ROHTAK-124001 HARYANA



ASSOCIATION OF MICROBIOLOGISTS

OF INDIA

The Association of Microbiologists of India established in 1938 is one of the oldest and reputed scientific organizations of the country. Since its inception, it has contributed significantly towards development of microbiology, particularly in areas of research teaching and commerce in country. The Association publishes a guarterly journal, "Indian Journal of Microbiology" for the last 45 years and holds a National convention annually at one of the well established centers of microbiology in the country. At present, there are more than 2500 life and 400 annual members and about corporate members of the Association. The Association of Microbiologists of India (AMI) was founded in 1938 to promote Microbiology and to provide a common platform for academicians and researchers working in different areas such as agriculture, human and animal health care, environment and industrial microbiology, food and molecular microbiology.

ABOUT UNIVERSITY

Maharshi Davanand University. ab initio established as **Rohtak University.** Rohtak, came into existence by an Act No. 25 of 1975 of the Harvana Legislative Assembly in 1976 with the objective to promote inter-disciplinary higher education and research in the fields of environmental, ecological and life sciences. It was rechristened as Maharshi Davanand University in 1977 after the name of a great visionary and social reformer. Maharshi Davanand. It had a unitary and residential character in its nascent stage, but became an affiliating University in November 1978. The University is located at Rohtak in the state of Harvana - about 75 kms from Delhi on Delhi-Hisar National Highway (NH-10). It is well connected both by rail as well as road. Rohtak is the education hub of the State with excellent facilities for education in all fields of knowledge. The University campus, spread over an area of over 665.44 acres, is well laid with state-ofthe-art buildings and presents a spectacle of harmony in architecture and natural beauty.

Education is offered through its 36 departments. Besides, the University runs some programmes through its Regional Centre, Meerpur (Rewari) and University Institute of Law & Management Studies (ULIMS), Gurgaon. THE DEPARTMENT

The Department of Microbiology was established in June, 2009, with objectives like providing education and training facilities. carrving out application oriented research. developing in-house technologies and promoting consultancy services in various areas of Microbiology. The department currently offers Two M. Sc. Courses viz. M.Sc. Microbiology, M.Sc. Ph.D. Microbial Biotechnology and programme in areas of Microbiology. **AMI UNIT at Rohtak**

Rohtak AMI Unit is one of the registered and recognized units of AMI established in 2010, having more than 150 members. We are annually holding sensitization programmes/seminars for the benefits of students and teachers and motivational lectures for school students related with biotechnology and microbiology.